ASCC Network Collaborators

The ASCC Network is led by Linda Nagel (Colorado State University), Jim Guldin (USDA Forest Service Southern Research Station), Chris Swanston (USDA Forest Service Northern Research Station and NIACS), Maria Janowiak (USDA Forest Service Northern Research Station and NIACS), and Courtney Peterson (Colorado State University and NIACS). The original science team that developed the conceptual framework for ASCC also included Brian Palik (USDA Forest Service Northern Research Station), Linda Joyce (USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Research Station), Connie Millar (USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest Research Station), Dave Peterson (USDA Forest Service Pacific Northwest Research Station), Lisa Ganio (Oregon State University), Matt Powers (Oregon State University), and Molly Roske (formerly of Colorado State University). 

ASCC is a highly collaborative project among:

  • Canadian Partners
    • Algonquin Forestry Authority
    • Canadian Forest Service/Natural Resources Canada 
    • Canadian Institute of Forestry
    • Canadian Wood Fibre Centre
    • FPInnovations
    • Friends of the Petawawa Research Forest
    • John Prince Research Forest
    • University of Northern British Columbia
    •  
  • Non-Governmental Partners
    • The Jones Center at Ichauway, GA
    • Mississippi Park Connection 
       
  • Northern Institute for Applied Climate Science
     
  • State and Local Partners
    • Colorado State Forest Service
    • Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
    • Iowa Department of Natural Resources
    • Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
    • Saint Paul Parks and Recreation
    • Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
    •  
  • Universities
    • Colorado State University
    • Dartmouth College
    • Iowa State University
    • Michigan Technological University
    • University of Connecticut 
    • University of Minnesota 
    • University of Vermont
    •  
  • US Department of Interior
    • National Park Service
    • Northeast Climate Adaptation Science Center
    •  
  • USDA Forest Service Research & Development
    • Northern Research Station
    • Pacific Northwest Research Station
    • Pacific Southwest Research Station
    • Rocky Mountain Research Station
    • Southern Research Station
       
  • USDA Forest Service National Forest System
    • Chippewa National Forest
    • Flathead National Forest
    • San Juan National Forest

All Contacts

 

Linda Nagel – ASCC Network Principal Investigator
Professor and Department Head

Forest and Rangeland Stewardship Department
Colorado State University
1472 Campus Delivery
Collins, CO 80523
Phone: 970-491-2840
Linda.Nagel@colostate.edu

Courtney Peterson – ASCC Network Coordinator
Research Associate
Forest and Rangeland Stewardship Department
Colorado State University
1472 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523
Phone: 970-491-2280
Courtney.Peterson@colostate.edu

Chris Swanston – Network PI
Forest Service Climate Advisor
Acting Director, Office of Sustainability and Climate
USDA Forest Service
410 MacInnes Dr.
Houghton, MI 49931
Phone: 906-482-6303 x20
Christopher.Swanston@usda.gov

Maria Janowiak – Network PI
Director, Northern Institute of Applied Climate Science
Director, Northern Forests Climate Hub
Northern Research Station, USDA Forest Service
410 MacInnes Dr.
Houghton, MI 49931
Phone: 906-482-6303 x29
Maria.Janowiak@usda.gov

 

Blair Rynearson – Manager Site Lead
State Forest Manager
Colorado State Forest Service
59228 Highway 14
Walden, CO 80480
Phone: 970-723-4505
blair.rynearson@colostate.edu

Mike Battaglia – Science Site Lead
Research Forester
Rocky Mountain Research Station, USDA Forest Service
Forest and Woodland Ecosystems Science Program
240 West Prospect Road
Fort Collins, CO 80526
Phone: 970-498-1286
michael.battaglia@usda.gov

Ethan Bucholz – Site Lead
Academic Liaison and Experiential Learning Specialist
Colorado State Forest Service
3843 Laporte Ave.
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Phone: 314-757-0387
ethan.bucholz@colostate.edu

Brian Palik – Site Lead
Research Ecologist
Northern Research Station, USDA Forest Service
Forestry Sciences Laboratory
1831 Hwy. 169. E.
Grand Rapids, MN 55744
Phone: 218-326-7116
Brian.Palik@usda.gov

Justin Crotteau – Site Lead
Research Forester
Rocky Mountain Research Station, USDA Forest Service
Missoula Forestry Sciences Lab
800 East Beckwith Ave
Missoula, MT 59801
Phone: 406-542-4169
Justin.crotteau@usda.gov

David Wright – Manager
Ecologist, Manager Coram Experimental Forest
Rocky Mountain Research Station, USDA Forest Service
Missoula Forestry Sciences Lab
800 East Beckwith Ave
Missoula, MT 59801
Phone: 406-542-4181
david.wright2@usda.gov

Ché Elkin – Site Lead
Associate Professor
Ecosystem Science & Management Program
University of Northern British Columbia
Forestry Sciences Laboratory
3333 University Way
Prince George, B.C. V2N 4Z9
Phone: 250-960-5004
che.elkin@unbc.ca

Sue Grainger – Site Lead
Research Forest Manager
John Prince Research Forest
Box 2378
Fort St James, BC, Canada, V0J 1P0
Phone: 250-996-3700
grainger@unbc.ca

Kristen Waring – Site Lead
Professor – School of Forestry
College of the Environment, Forestry, and Natural Sciences
Northern Arizona University
Southwest Forest Science Complex, 200 E Pine Knoll Dr
Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Phone: 928-523-4920
Kristen.Waring@nau.edu

Jeffery Cannon – Site Co-Lead
Forest Landscape Ecology
The Jones Center at Ichauway
3988 Jones Center Drive
Newton, GA 39870-8522
Phone: 229-734-4706
Jeffery.Cannon@jonesctr.org

Steven Brantley – Site Co-Lead
Forest Ecohydrology
The Jones Center at Ichauway
3988 Jones Center Drive
Newton, GA 39870-8522
Phone: 229-734-4706
Steven.Brantley@jonesctr.org

Andy Whelan – Site Co-Lead
Research Associate, Forest Ecology
The Jones Center at Ichauway
3988 Jones Center Drive
Newton, GA 39870-8522
Phone: 229-734-4706
Andy.Whelan@jonesctr.org

Michael Hoepting – Site Co-Lead
Silviculture Research Forester
Canadian Wood Fibre Centre
Natural Resources Canada
1219 Queen Street East
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, P6A 2E5
Phone: 705-941-8876
michael.hoepting@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca

Jeff Fera – Site Co-Lead
Forest Research Officer
Canadian Wood Fibre Centre
Natural Resources Canada
1219 Queen Street East
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, P6A 2E5
Phone: 705-255-8733
jeff.fera@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca

Trevor Jones – Site Co-Lead
Research Scientist
Canadian Wood Fibre Centre
Natural Resources Canada
1219 Queen Street East
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, P6A 2E5
Phone: 705-541-5610
trevor.jones3@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca

Nelson Thiffault – Site Co-Lead
Research Scientist
Natural Resources Canada
Phone: 418-454-1976
nelson.thiffault@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca

Elizabeth Cobb – Site Manager
Forest Operations Manager
Canadian Wood Fibre Centre
Natural Resources Canada
1000 Clouthier Road, P.O. Box 2000
Chalk River, Ontario, K0J 1J0
Phone: 613-589-3019
Elizabeth.Cobb@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca

Mike Battaglia – Site Lead
Research Forester
Rocky Mountain Research Station, USDA Forest Service
Forest and Woodland Ecosystems Science Program
240 West Prospect Road
Fort Collins, CO 80526
Phone: 970-498-1286
Michael.Battaglia@usda.gov

Matt Tuten - Manager Lead
San Juan National Forest, USDA Forest Service
180 Pagosa Street
P.O. Box 310
Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Phone: 970-264-1513
Matthew.Tuten@usda.gov

Tony D’Amato – Site Lead
Professor
Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources
University of Vermont
204E Aiken Center
Burlington, VT 05405
Phone: 802-656-8030
awdamato@uvm.edu

Chris Woodall – Site Co-Lead
Northern Research Station, USDA Forest Service
Project Leader, Research Forester
Center for Research on Ecosystem Change
271 Mast Road
Durham, NH, 03824-0640
Phone: 603-868-7638
Christopher.Woodall@usda.govs

Kevin Evans - Manager Lead
Director of Woodlands
Dartmouth College
P.O. Box 213
Milan, NH 03588
Phone: 603-449-2049
Kevin.S.Evans@dartmouth.edu

Mary Hammes - MNRRA Urban Affiliate ASCC Site Lead
Environmental Stewardship & Volunteer Manager
Mississippi Park Connection
Forestry Sciences Laboratory
111 Kellogg Blvd E, Suite 105
Saint Paul, MN 55101
Phone: 651-291-9119
mhammes@parkconnection.org

Leslie Brandt - MNRRA Urban Affiliate ASCC Site Co-Lead
Climate Change Specialist
Northern Institute of Applied Climate Science, USDA Forest Service
Climate, Fire, and Carbon Cycle Sciences
1992 Folwell Avenue
St. Paul, MN, 55108-1034
Phone: 651-649-5016
Leslie.Brandt@usda.gov

Marcella A. Windmuller-Campione - MNRRA Urban Affiliate ASCC Site Key Science Collaborator
Assistant Professor
University of Minnesota
330G Green Hall
1530 Cleveland Avenue North
Saint Paul, MN 55108
Phone: 612-624-3699
mwind@umn.edu

Rebecca A. Montgomery - MNRRA Urban Affiliate ASCC Site Key Science Collaborator
Professor
University of Minnesota
314 Green Hall
1530 Cleveland Avenue North
Saint Paul, MN 55108
Phone: 612-624-7249
rebeccam@umn.edu

Maggie Barnick - MNRRA Urban Affiliate ASCC Site Manager
Natural Resources Technician
Saint Paul Parks & Recreation
25 W 4th St #400
Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone: 651-632-2458
maggie.barnick@ci.stpaul.mn.us

Mary Hammes - MNRRA Urban Affiliate ASCC Site Lead

Tom Worthley - Exurban Affiliate ASCC Site Lead
Associate Extension Professor
University of Connecticut Cooperative Extension Service
Forestry Sciences Laboratory
University of Connecticut Department of Natural Resources and the Environment
1376 Storrs Road, Unit 4066
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-4066
Phone: 860-345-5232
thomas.worthley@uconn.edu

Bob Fahey - Exurban Affiliate ASCC Site Lead
Assistant Professor
University of Connecticut Department of Natural Resources and the Environment
1376 Storrs Rd. U-4087
Storrs, CT 06269-4087
Phone: 860-486-0148
robert.fahey@uconn.edu