ASCC Partners Across the Country

The ASCC Project is led by Linda Nagel (Colorado State University), Jim Guldin (USDA Forest Service Southern Research Station), Chris Swanston (USDA Forest Service Northern Research Station and NIACS), Maria Janowiak (USDA Forest Service Northern Research Station and NIACS), Courtney Peterson (Colorado State University), and Chris Looney (Colorado State University). The original science team that developed the conceptual framework for ASCC also included Brian Palik (USDA Forest Service Northern Research Station), Linda Joyce (USDA Forest Service Rocky Mountain Research Station), Connie Millar (USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest Research Station), Dave Peterson (USDA Forest Service Pacific Northwest Research Station), Lisa Ganio (Oregon State University), Matt Powers (Oregon State University), and Molly Roske (formerly of Colorado State University). 

ASCC is a highly collaborative project among:

  • USDA Forest Service Research & Development
    • Northern Research Station
    • Pacific Northwest Research Station
    • Pacific Southwest Research Station
    • Rocky Mountain Research Station
    • Southern Research Station
       
  • USDA Forest Service National Forest System
    • Chippewa National Forest
    • San Juan National Forest
    • Flathead National Forest
       
  • Northern Institute for Applied Climate Science
     
  • Universities
    • Colorado State University
    • Michigan Technological University
    • University of Minnesota 
    • University of Vermont
    • Dartmouth College
       
  • Non-governmental partners
    • Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center, GA

All Contacts

  • Linda Nagel – ASCC Principal Investigator
    Professor and Department Head

    Forest and Rangeland Stewardship Department
    Colorado State University
    1472 Campus Delivery
    Collins, CO 80523
    Phone: 970-491-2840
    Linda.Nagel@colostate.edu

    Courtney Peterson – ASCC National Coordinator
    Research Associate
    Forest and Rangeland Stewardship Department
    Colorado State University
    1472 Campus Delivery
    Fort Collins, CO 80523
    Phone: 970-491-2280
    Courtney.Peterson@colostate.edu

    Chris Looney – ASCC Postdoctoral Fellow
    Postdoctoral Fellow
    Forest and Rangeland Stewardship Department
    Colorado State University
    1472 Campus Delivery
    Fort Collins, CO 80523
    Chris.Looney@colostate.edu

    Jim Guldin – USDA Forest Service National Lead
    Supervisory Research Ecologist and Project Lead
    Southern Research Station, USDA Forest Service
    607 Reserve Street
    Hot Springs, AR 71902
    Phone: 870-723-1623
    jguldin@fs.fed.us

    Chris Swanston - National PI
    Director, Northern Institute of Applied Climate Science
    Director, USDA Northern Forests Climate Hub
    Northern Research Station, USDA Forest Service
    410 MacInnes Dr.
    Houghton, MI 49931
    Phone: 906-482-6303 x20
    cswanston@fs.fed.us

    Maria Janowiak – National PI
    Deputy Director, Northern Institute of Applied Climate Science
    Northern Research Station, USDA Forest Service
    410 MacInnes Dr.
    Houghton, MI 49931
    Phone: 906-482-6303 x29
    Mjanowiak02@fs.fed.us

  • Brian Palik – Site Lead
    Research Ecologist
    Northern Research Station, USDA Forest Service
    Forestry Sciences Laboratory
    1831 Hwy. 169. E.
    Grand Rapids, MN 55744
    Phone: 218-326-7116
    bpalik@fs.fed.us

  • Elaine Kennedy Sutherland – Site Lead
    Research Biologist
    Rocky Mountain Research Station, USDA Forest Service
    Missoula Forestry Sciences Lab
    800 East Beckwith Ave
    Missoula, MT 59801
    Phone: 406-542-4169
    esutherland@fs.fed.us

    Terrie Jain – Site Co-Lead
    Research Forester
    Rocky Mountain Research Station, USDA Forest Service
    Moscow Forestry Sciences Laboratory
    1221 South Main St.
    Moscow, ID 83843
    Phone: 208-882-3557
    tjain@fs.fed.us

    Melissa Jenkins – Manager Lead
    Forest Silviculturist, USDA Forest Service
    Flathead National Forest
    650 Wolfpack Way
    Kalispell, MT 59901
    Phone: 406-758-5333
    mmjenkins@fs.fed.us

    David Wright – Manager
    Ecologist, Manager Coram Experimental Forest
    Rocky Mountain Research Station, USDA Forest Service
    Missoula Forestry Sciences Lab
    800 East Beckwith Ave
    Missoula, MT 59801
    Phone: 406-542-4181
    dkwright@fs.fed.us

  • Seth Bigelow – Site Co-Lead
    Assistant Scientist of Forest Ecology
    Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center
    3988 Jones Center Drive
    Newton, GA 39870-8522
    Phone: 229-734-4706 x-270
    Seth.bigelow@jonesctr.org

    Steve Jack – Site Co-Lead
    Conservation Ecologist
    Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center
    3988 Jones Center Drive
    Newton, GA 39870-8522
    Phone: 229-734-4706, ext. 247
    Steve.jack@jonesctr.org

  • Mike Battaglia – Site Lead
    Research Forester
    Rocky Mountain Research Station, USDA Forest Service
    Forest and Woodland Ecosystems Science Program
    240 West Prospect Road
    Fort Collins, CO 80526
    Phone: 970-498-1286
    mbattaglia@fs.fed.us

    Matt Tuten - Manager Lead
    San Juan National Forest, USDA Forest Service
    180 Pagosa Street
    P.O. Box 310
    Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
    Phone: 970-264-1513
    mtuten@fs.fed.us

  • Tony D’Amato – Site Lead
    Professor
    Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources
    University of Vermont
    204E Aiken Center
    Burlington, VT 05405
    Phone: 802-656-8030
    awdamato@uvm.edu

    Chris Woodall – Site Co-Lead
    Northern Research Station, USDA Forest Service
    Project Leader, Research Forester
    Center for Research on Ecosystem Change
    271 Mast Road
    Durham, NH, 03824-0640
    Phone: 603-868-7638
    cwoodall@fs.fed.us

    Kevin Evans - Manager Lead
    Director of Woodlands
    Dartmouth College
    P.O. Box 213
    Milan, NH 03588
    Phone: 603-449-2049
    Kevin.S.Evans@dartmouth.edu